State of the Union (flag)

Well, I’ve done it. I’ve been and gone and done it. I now own an object that is adorned with the Union flag (You see, dear pedants, I’m not calling it a Union Jack, because although that would mean everyone would understand what I’m talking about, I know there are going to be people reading this and going “It’s not the Union Jack unless its flown at sea, grumble grumble stupid woman”.)

It seems to be everywhere at the moment, along with that KEEP CALM AND CARRY ON sign (and its derivatives). I’m not sure if this is exclusively due to Will & Kate’s wedding but I just can’t seem to find a single home store or even clothes store without a single Union flag product, even here in France. And you know what? That’s ok.

It’s a striking symbol, aside from any actual meaning, the big bold blue white and red lines and the complexity of it make it instantly recognisable worldwide. It’s a perfect ingredient for decorative objects in need of that extra little something. And with it symbolising Britain, arguably one of the trendiest countries in the West at the moment, it is especially pleasing to anyone even remotely guilty of Anglophilia.

Graphically speaking, I love the look of it, and hell, I’m proud to be British, but for some reason, I just couldn’t bring myself to own anything with a Union flag on it. Maybe it’s because I’ve spent most of my life living in other countries where the flag symbolises my difference, I guess it felt like I was showing off, or trying to set myelf apart from the people around me. Considering the number of foreign people who have it on their clothes or adorn their interiors with it, I doubt anyone would have actually noticed. It’s just another hang-up I guess. Hey ho.

Leave a Reply

