Plinky Thursday 3

How is technology changing the way families interact?

How to answer that one except by either a blindingly obvious statement or a 100-page report? Of course technology is changing the way families interact.
It has ever since “technology” existed. And it will continue to do so.

If only there were more hours in the day. What are your tips for saving time?

I have a great time-saving tip. Put off doing anything you don’t fancy doing until someone else does it. Then you’ll have plenty of spare time for all the other stuff.

Which pop culture icon’s unexpected death affected you the most?

Michael Jackson. There was nothing good on TV for WEEKS because of him.

Have you ever thought about starting your own business?

Oh many a time. All sorts of things. From wedding planner to interior decorator, or even cupcake maker. But if I’m honest with myself for 5 minutes, I remember how much I dislike some of the essential things that come with running your own business and I snuggle back down into my comfy old permanent contract. Maybe one day, when I grow up.

Describe the town where you grew up.

I grew up in several places. A small village in the cotswolds, with beautiful creamy stone buildings, village fêtes and a quaint little church snuggling down a country lane with a smal stream running along side it. Beautiful, postcard stuff.

Then we moved to Swindon. Bland, vanilla, suburban Swindon. Of course, being little, I thought it was awesome, because we had an ice rink / swimming pool just 5 minutes walk away, and a playground just a few metres away from the house.

The big move came just after I turned 12. Ther whole family upped and moved to a tiny hamlet in the foothills of the French Pyrenees. 4 houses in the middle of nowhere, of which only 1 other was a permanent residence. And our only other neighbour was an American. It was… different. I could write a whole book about that adventure. Maybe I will. One day.

Name something intangible that you never want to lose.

Oh dear. I’m going to have to go with the cheesy old cliché answer once again. The lovely, warm, beautiful relationship I have with my other half. It is quite possibly the most awesome thing on this planet.

Have you ever been on stage?

Why of COURSE I have daaaarling, can’t you tell? Of course, it’s been a while, and I was behind the scenes more than I ever was on stage, but it was a grand old adventure while it lasted. It has had lasting after effect though. I can’t see a single show without concentrating on the set changes, the sound and lights, he costume details, etc. It is quite distracting.

Leave a Reply

