Plinky Thursday 2

What are your favorite slang words?

I guess it depends what you call slang. I can think of plenty of insults I enjoy, but if we’re talking basic slang… Tepid. It’s simultaneously the new cool and the new hot.

If you could bring one fictional character to life for a day, who would you choose?

Wow. It’s probably a terribly clichéd choice but if I had to pick, right now, I’d say Superman. I think it’s be really fun to have a real-life superhero in the world. And with his super speed, he could probably get a hell of a lot done in the one day.

What world issues deserve more attention, and why?

If I was in the running for Miss World, I would have a well thought-out answer for that. I’m not, so I don’t. Maybe it’s the things that are too obvious. The trees that hide the forest. Like finding out what it is that makes people fight each other, drink, smoke, do drugs, lie, hurt others and all the other crappy destructive and self-destructive things that we humans do to each other. If we could fix that, now…

What was the best movie of 2010?

I don’t know if it’s technically the best, and I haven’t read the original comic books, but I really got a kick from Scott Pilgrim vs The World. Pure geek joy.

Are you stressed out?

Yes. I stress out about a lot of things. Silly things. Little things. I don’t stress out about the big important things, usually. Yeah, I know. Weird.

Do you prefer to talk or text?

Text. Or email. I hate using the phone. Rather ironic for someone who works for a big telco operator and is completely obsessed with her iPhone. I put it down to the trauma of having to cold-call, hard-sell double glazing when I was a student. Possibly the worst job I have ever had.

How do you stay focused?

Headphones. I’ve always worked to music since I was at high school. If necessary, isolation. And if all else fails,  savoury snacks.

Leave a Reply

