NaNoWriMo

nano_09_red_participant_120x240So, after many years of sitting back and watching others jump in at the deep end, I’ve finally bought myself some guts and signed up for NaNoWriMo.

If you are not aware of this insane event, it’s basically a challenge to write a 50,000-word novel in just the 30 days of the month of November. It happens every year, mainly online and across the world.

Have I mentioned that it is insane? That there is nothing to win except the glory of being able to say “I did it” (or “I failed miserably”)? That I am both scared silly and incredibly excited? No? Well, now I have.

50,000 words averages out at just under 1700 words per day. My blog posts tend to be around 500 on average (not counting the short ones I pack with YouTube videos). So it’s like writing 3 or 4 blog posts per day for a month. Crikey.

So, dear reader, the consequences of this are mainly these: for a start, I will probably not be posting much blog-wise during the month of November, so please forgive me in advance (consider it a well-earned holiday from reading my drivel). Secondly, if I do post, it will probably be to moan about NaNo, so please forgive me in advance.

NaNo is all about the figures, it’s about making yourself write quantities of complete and utter crap (and let’s face it, it will be crap), no editing, no self-censorship, just to get to that shiny, golden 50K in the sky. It’s not just about writing a novel, it’s about motivation and stamina. And I really need both of those. I also need to learn not to fuss and fiddle and just get on with it, to be a writer not a writing editor. To just let the drivel flow, free and wild. Wild drivel. That’s what I need. Oh yes.

Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

