Squirrel!

So we went to see Disney/Pixar’s new baby, Up. Despite the fact that they insisted on only showing it in 3D, which gives me a serious headache. Dunno if it’s the glasses or having to get my brain around the unnatural concept of three-dimensional space, but 3D movies do my head in.

Anyhoo, back to the movie itself. From the trailer, you think you get it: Carl is this grumpy old bugger who ties a load of balloons to his house and floats off, unwittingly taking a boy scout with him. Well, that is pretty much not the story whatsoever. I won’t tell you what the story is, because I hate spoiling things, and I know how sensitive people can get about these things. In fact I have a friend who is so sensitive about spoilers that she screamed abuse at the person who said “Oh, yeah, Harry Potter, that’s the one about the boy who finds out he’s a wizard, right?”. No, really, that is no word of an exaggeration.

I guess what I can say without giving anything away is that the characters are just perfect. All the way down to the dogs. In fact, especially the dogs. Kevin the giant bird is great too. It’s as if Disney has some special power to capture animal personalities better than human ones. If I was feeling mean I would say that it’s just because animal personalities are far simpler.

As for the story itself, well, it is rather sad, and very sweet, but it mainly made me think, which I hardly expected from a Disney movie. Admittedly, Wall-E had kind of the same touch of “this is a story for kids, but if you look past the obvious we are actually pointing our finger at something bigger here…” so maybe I should have expected it.

Damn this really is a lame-arse review. Just go see the movie, ok?

Leave a Reply

