iAddict

Hi, I’m Kathy, and I’m an addict.

A couple of years ago, all I wanted from a phone was for it to make/receive calls and send/receive texts. And that was a good thing because I am under a particularly virulent curse when it comes to picking phones. If I choose a phone, no matter how long I spend perusing specs, benchmarks and user reviews beforehand, the moment I buy it, it will become the most uncool phone on the planet, production will be discontinued and every single accessory ever made will become incompatible with it. I am only barely exaggerating, I promise.

When I started my new job, just over 18 months ago, one of my first projects was around the launch of the iPhone. It was a top secret project too, so it was very exciting. At first, I treated it with the awe and worship that I have for all other Apple products. I loved it on sight but knew that I (and my bank account) would never be worthy. Then 2 things happened in quick succession: I tried it out, and then we were told we could get an employee discount and use the iPhone on our work account. So I flung caution to the wind, saved up and bought one.

3 weeks later, Apple announced the release of the iPhone 3G.

See what I mean?

Anyhoo, although mine is a “First Generation”, it’s still an awesomely cool plaything, and quite honestly, between the messes it’s gotten me out of (lost hotels, missed trains, forgotten appointments…) and the amount of work I’ve been able to do on it while commuting, it has long since paid for itself. But the problem is that I am now very slightly addicted to it.

Hmm. The word understatement springs to mind.

Not even waterboarding* would get me to admit to anything so low as using it while on the toilet, because nobody does that, that would just be wrong. However, I must say I do have a real problem putting the damn thing down. Twitter doesn’t help, being hooked on that too, and there being plenty of apps for feeding one addiction with another. Hell, there are apps for EVERYTHING. Yes, even that.

And that.

The withdrawal syndrome from this addiction rears its ugly head whenever I’m out of the country, when data roaming is automatically cut off to avoid creating black holes in my pocket. Funnily enough, I don’t miss the emails too much, but whenever I am unable to instantly check the answer to any random and usually unimportant question that may arise in conversation, I get a prickly feeling in my fingers and find myself reaching for my fix.

Whatever did I do before I had that instant access to the sum of all knowledge at the touch of a screen? How did I prove to people that I was right (because I am right) and they was wrong (because they always are)?

They say that the first step to curing an addiction is admitting you have one, the main problem in this case is that I’m not sure I want to get better. I like having a second brain in my pocket, it’s much smarter that the one in my head. The only thing that’s slightly worrying is that I may lose it or it may break in some way… The iPhone, I mean, the squishy thing in my skull went missing long ago. Haven’t missed it yet.

iPhoneaddict

*That’s some water sport thing like surfing but different, right?

Leave a Reply

