So what *does* IT mean?

I first saw the IT crowd on the Interweb somewhere, lurking down one of those pipes. At first I thought it was one of those really great little amateur productions that you only get on the web and that sadly never make it any further in spite of their genius. Believe me, this is quite a compliment coming from me, some of that stuff is pure wasted genius! And then I found out it was actually a proper thing that had been on the telly and all, and there was much rejoicing.

Some of you, I fear, may have already downloaded the series. This is wrong.

After all, you wouldn’t steal a baby, would you? Then take a shit on the baby and give it back to its mother. Then steal her handbag while she’s distracted. Then take a shit in the handbag and give it back? Then steal the baby again, and eat it with mint sauce. Would you?

I hope you wouldn’t, otherwise I’m pretty sure I don’t want you visiting my blog, so bugger off.

Seriously, buy the DVD boxset.

Why? Not because it’s the right thing to do. Not because it’s a few more pennies in the pocket of the very delightful and deserving Graham Linehan (I could just kiss his brain) and all his chums what made it. No, you should buy them because the DVDs themselves are just genius. This weekend, for the first time ever, I sat there watching a DVD menu, just for the sake of it. Each menu and submenu is a hilarious little homage to those old computer games, the Lemmings and the Prince of Persias we all know and love.

Not only are the menus absolutely brilliant, the artwork seriously cute, and of course the series itself as funny as a pink banana, but the DVD bonuses kick some serious donkey too. And you can have the while thing subtitled in Geek, or in 1337 if you should so wish.

Awesomeness in a box. Buy it. Now.

Leave a Reply

